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How to do keywords research for SEO ?

How to do keywords research for SEO 

PART 1

Keyword Research Basics

Keywords are the key stone of SEO. If no one is exploring your content you cannot achieve any search result from the search engine. So, you have to do research on the most searched keywords to rank high.  

To find the right keywords for a better SEO strategy, you should kindly take out 24 mins from your busy schedule to learn a few things. 

 So let’s get into the topic.

What is keyword research?

Keyword research is a simple way by which you can find out the most searched terms on the search engine. By searching the keywords in the search engine, one can reach the particular content easily. The goal of keyword research is to search for terms that create an opportunity to rank well in the search engines for that particular topic.

Why is keyword research important?

The SEO process makes keyword research easier for everyone. To improve your SEO strategy, it is important to get the information. It not only helps the site but also the customer. It will likely be inefficient and ineffective without proper keyword knowledge.

Keyword research helps you find the relevant keywords that will take you to the particular web page that you are looking for. Choosing the correct keyboard helps in attracting more people to your website. This will help you enhance your SERP and increase your profit. 

PART 2

How to Find Keyword Ideas?

Two ways to find keyword ideas are:

  • To know the field you are in better.
  • Understanding the workings of the keyword research tools.
1. Brainstorm “Seed” Keywords

In the keyword research process, the seed keyword is the first step. A list of keywords will be generated with the help of seed keywords. You will be able to recognize your competitors and will also help you in recognizing the relevant topic  according to your position. 

With the help of seed keywords,  promoting any online business or product that you already have becomes easier. Just imagine what people will search for in the search engine to discover the service you provide.  

  • Helmet 
  • Motorcycle jacket
  • Honda oem parts
  • Motorcycle battery

As the name suggests, “seeds,” you can understand that they are not worthy enough to target pages on your website, so don’t get obsessed with these keywords for the next steps in this process. Once you gather all the information related to your website’s topic, you go to the next page. 

2. Follow up with the keywords that the competitors are ranking for

Looking up the keywords that have been searched the most by your competitors is a good way to feed up your keyword research. But first, you have to recognize those competitors. Then you will discover a brainstormed list of keywords. Go to Google and search for any seed keywords, and then you will realize who ranks on the first page. 

You should search for more specified keywords if no top-ranking sites match your seed keywords. 

For example, if you want to sell tea-making equipment on your website, you may identify your competitors in the search results for “tea pan” rather than “tea”. The reason is these are all e-commerce stores like yours, which are prone to ranking for the former, and blogs often rank for the latter.

After recognizing your competitor website, you should input it into a corporate intelligence tool so that you can check the pages that bring the most traffic and what keywords their pages are targeting. 

After scrutinizing some of your competitor websites you will find a list of relevant keywords. Then in the subsequent stages of your keyword research you will choose whether these keyword ideas are fully informational or have commercial purpose. Right now your intention is to gather as many appropriate keyword ideas you can. 

You should repeat this method for as many competitors as you can. The common keywords that you have searched show you similar websites that have ranked well in Google, known as “Competing Domains”.

3.Use keyword research tools

Competitors are a credible source of keyword ideas. Yet there are many keywords that are still not used by your competitors. By using several keyword research tools, you can get these not-used keywords. 

All keyword research tools perform in a similar way.  When you insert a keyword in the search engine they gather relevant keyword ideas  from their knowledge based on that keyword. 

Google Keyword Planner (GKP) is one of the best tool for keyword research. With the help of Google Keyword Planner (GKP) you get the chance to connect with the prospective customers when they search you. As it is a free tool it helps you to show paid advertisements in Google. 

GKP has provided me a list of keywords ideas for the seed keyword “Fitness”:

There are many tools other than Keyword Planner. If you start using those tools, momentarily you will notice that they are restricted regarding the data and functionalities. 

PART 3

How to analyze keywords

Examining many keyword ideas is all right. But how will you identify which is the correct one? Because it is not possible for you to understand all of it manually.

Here’s the solution for you: SEO metrics will help you to find the best keywords out of a large pull of options.

The four keyword metrics are:

Search volume

Search volume is mainly observed as a salient metric.It functions as a method of revealing the total number of times a  keyword is searched on a monthly base.Even if you rank well you won’t have any search traffic until and unless anybody searches for that keyword. 

Traffic Potential

Any keyword having the maximum search volume doesn’t mean that your web page has more traffic potential. Google search results include some features that manage search queries with concise responses, known as zero-click searches. You might have seen these for yourself. As the search engine has already provided you with the answer, the web page can show 50% to no clicks.

This type of query can be categorized as a zero-click search, as you don’t have to look up the answer on the website. Among many related keywords, surfer keyword research shows the potential traffic accompanied by search volume and keyword difficulty. 

To understand the keyword’s popularity, you need to do research on it. As you might see while searching for a keyword in SEO keyword tools, it might show zero search volume. Don’t pay attention to these results immediately, as these tools don’t show live data in the initial stage.

 Keyword Difficulty 

In accordance with keyword difficulty, it is difficult to rank on the google initial page as known for formatting a said keyword. If the score is higher it will be tough for you to rank well. 

If you want to combat with high-quality keyword then you have to provide:

  • A good quality content 
  • Numerous links from a highly regarded domains
  • A source of knowledge regarding the subject matter.
  • The best possible technical SEO

Keyword difficulty scores have a mutual relationship with search volumes as the more searched keywords are prone to be more combating. 

Long-tail keywords are prone to have lower difficulty scores. 

Here you go with the picture of keyword difficulty.

It will be better to extract your outcome while researching keywords for SEO through the prediction of KD%.

Cost Per Click (CPC)

To measure the cost of per click on an advertisement, users have to apply a specified method  that is known as the Cost Per Click (CPC) that mainly performs as a sum of the total advertisement cost divided by the number of per clicks. For example: an advertiser is paying $30 for 300 clicks then the cost per click will be 30/300. 

In this picture you can see that the keyword “project management software” has $30 CPC which is quite high.

 PART 4

How to target keywords

In order to get maximum opportunity to rank you have to scrutinize keywords to understand what kind of page you have to design. Also you can use that page to find the reason that is helping the page for such a high rank. 

Now let’s know how you will find these.

1. Identify the Parent Topic

Parent topics that are connected to the keyword can be identified by thinking about broader topics and categories that contain the primary keyword. Brainstorm can help you uncover similar words; it can assist you with synonyms and will also guide you in discovering relevant topics. You have to search for the top pages, and what is the purpose of that page having a top rank? Then you will realize that you have gathered the topics that you need for the keyword. 

2.Study the search intent

To target keywords, knowing the search intent is necessary. You have to know what type of keywords a user can search in the search engine. To make your content first you have to know the intention of the user. This will help you to reach the user’s expectation and will appear when they will search the keyword . 

Search intent are of four types:

    1.Informational Intent: The purpose of informational intent is to gain information by searching questions or answers for a particular query. It might be educational material, definition, etc., on a specific topic. 

    2.Navigational Intent: The purpose of navigational intent is to find out the level of interest for the number of searches that have been done for a particular query. 

    3. Transactional Intent: the purpose of transactional intent is to buy or fulfill a particular action by comparing a product or services, etc.

     4. Commercial investigation intent: The purpose of commercial investigation intent is to make a decision about purchasing any product or service in the future. It may include a price comparison or analyzing the reviews before buying it.

PART 5

How to prioritize keywords

  • Quick wins: It involves direct focus on easily attainable keywords, mostly those with moderate difficulty and substantial traffic, where you might have a high chance of quickly achieving a better rank.
  • Content planning: You have to plan contents that involve broader themes and relevant searches by classifying the keywords into different topics. 
  • Long-term value: Search for keywords that will show a huge result, even though they are hard to rank. You have to focus on writing content and how you can get links for those keywords. 

PART 6

Keyword research tools

It is not possible to do keyword research without any help. There are some specific tools that will help you do keyword research smoothly. And if you have limited funds, then here you go with the tools:

  • Google Search Console: Without any subscription you can use this tool to search keywords. It will display the queries, monitor your website’s ranking, and also let you know from where you are getting the most clicks.
  • Google Keyword Planner: This is also a free tool.You can look for keywords for your business and get to know the cost of per click and the amount of searches you have received.
  • Keyword Generator: This tool helps you in finding keywords to use in your content or when you are trying to rank high in the search results. This tool will also let you do your keyword research without any subscription.   
  • Keyword Difficulty Checker: This free tool shows how difficult it is to rank in the search engine. 

Conclusion

For more detailed information, feel free to reach out to us directly. Call us at [+918958282487] and our team will be happy to assist you further. Visit our website seoguri.com

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